Instagram has become a social media giant over the years. The photo-sharing app allows its users to share photos and videos with their friends and followers. This makes Instagram a great place to showcase your talents and skills.
However, like all social media, you can often feel a bit too exposed whilst using the app. It can be annoying when other people know exactly when you're online and when you're not... especially if you're trying to avoid replying to a certain message (don't judge us, we know you all do it too).
One way to prevent people from knowing when you're online is to turn off your active status. To learn how to do this, take a look at the ultimate guide below. We also go over some other tips and tricks that will make your experience on Instagram feel a bit more private.
If you're sick and tired of people being able to see when you are active on Instagram, you should turn off your activity status. If you do this, no one will be able to see when you're online, because the little green icon won't appear by your name.
However, before you change your activity visibility on Instagram, you should first know that it works both ways. If you stop showing up as being active on Instagram, you will no longer be able to see when other users are active on Instagram.
If you want to stop showing up as being active on Instagram, then follow these steps:
If you want to turn off your activity status on Instagram, you're likely wondering whether anyone will know that you have done so. Or, you might be wondering if any of the people you follow have done so (i.e., are any friends avoiding your messages).
There are no obvious signs that someone has turned off their activity status on Instagram, so there is no need to stress if you were concerned about being found out! However, there are a few subtle signs that you can keep an eye out for.
For instance, if you send a person a message and they read it, even though it states that they are offline, you know that they have hidden their activity status. Similarly, if you notice that someone posts whilst offline, you know that they are hiding their activity status.
If you're looking for maximum privacy levels, you should try making your whole Instagram account private. This will mean that only people who follow you will be able to see your content and your information. If someone chooses to follow you, you will receive a follow request. You can then choose to accept the request or deny it.
Making your account private is a great way to feel a bit safer online. Not only do you have complete control over who is viewing your account, but you are also less likely to receive unwanted messages from strangers. To learn how to make your Instagram account private, follow the step-by-step guide below.
If you're happy with people viewing your account and your activity status, but you're getting rather annoyed by the number of notifications that you're receiving from Instagram, you can simply turn off Instagram notifications.
This way, if you're not using the app, you won't be notified when someone has liked or commented on your content or has requested to follow you. This is ideal if you find yourself getting distracted by Instagram notifications during the workday.
To learn how to stop receiving Instagram notifications, check out the guide below.
If you have a problem with a specific person or account viewing your profile and activity status, you could instead opt to block that single account. This means that they will not be able to see your account or information at all unless you choose to unblock them.
To block someone on Instagram, follow the steps below.
Whilst the options to disable your Activity Status and make your profile private do help to restrict your visibility, it is important to remember that there are still ways for people to find you and track your activity.
Unfortunately, this is a side of social media that is unavoidable - but we hope that this article has given you the tools that you need to feel more in control of how you use the Instagram app and who can view your content.